Parks and Recreation Commission


Meetings: Monthly - Third Wednesday
Agendas and Minutes
Time & Place:         6:00 p.m. Covington City Hall
Staff Contact: Ethan Newton, Parks & Recreation Director, 253-480-2481
Term: 3 years
Authority: Parks & Recreation Director

The Parks and Recreation Commission shall consist of seven members appointed by the City Council, two of which may be youth members who must be between the ages of 14 and 18 years at the start of their terms. Up to two of the members may reside outside the City, but those outside must reside within a three-mile radius of the City limits. The remaining five members must reside or work within the City limits.

Each position shall have a term of office for three years; provided, however, any member designated as a youth member shall serve only for one year. If a youth member is appointed, the Council shall fill the position for the remaining years, if any, at the end of the youth term. Terms shall commence on February 1st and expire on January 31st of the respective years. When a vacancy occurs, the replacement shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.

The Parks and Recreation Commission shall elect a chairperson, vice-chairperson and secretary from among its members. Such individuals shall hold office for one year. The City Manager shall appoint staff to provide assistance to the Commission as available and permitted by the budget. The Commission shall meet one time per month and upon call of the chairperson, as necessary. Each regular and youth member shall have one vote.

The Parks and Recreation Commission shall study, investigate, counsel and develop and/or update written plans for the provision of recreational programming and development of parks and other natural resources within the City, taking into consideration the requirements of all grant fund agencies. Further, the commission shall be responsible for the following:

  1. Preparing and/or reviewing the long range park, recreation and open space plan for the City of Covington;

  2. Proposed land acquisitions, easements and leases;

  3. Specific park master plans and related public involvement;

  4. Partnership and intergovernmental agreements pertaining to park, recreation and natural resources;

  5. Major policies related to the management and operation of the City'’s park and recreation system;

  6. Major policies related to the provision of recreational programming including, but not limited to, athletics, aquatics, recreation and special events;

  7. Long-term funding and financing to implement and manage the City's park, recreation and natural resource system;

  8. Preparation of a capital improvement plan that identifies funded priority projects;

  9. Preparation of a public involvement program that solicits volunteer support and encourages public participation in the implementation and operation of Covington'’s park system;

  10. Developing, implementing and reviewing a comprehensive community forestry program, including tree management and Arbor Day activities, and annual work plan;

  11. Submitting periodic reports to the City Council setting forth its progress in completing its work program for the current fiscal year. The chairperson of the Parks and Recreation Commission or designee is encouraged to regularly present updates to the City Council at the first regular City Council meeting or study session after each Parks and Recreation Commission meeting;

  12. Reviewing and updating the departmental six year strategic plan, youth athletic handbook and recreation comprehensive plan;

  13. Such other and further responsibilities as may be assigned to the commission by the City Council, from time to time. Covington Municipal Code (CMC) 2.45
                 Members:                                               3-Year Term:
                               Zbigniew Tomalik - Pos. #1 1/31/20
                          Steve Pand - Pos. #2 1/31/20
                        Secretary Bryan Higgins - Pos. #3 1/31/21
 Chair  Laura Morrissey - Pos. #5 1/31/22
                        Vice Chair Aaron Drake - Pos. #4 1/31/21
  Vacant - Pos. #6 1/31/21
  Thomas Russell - Pos. #7 1/31/22